Study Abroad Changes Lives!

This is my advertisement slogan, when I try to recruit students for study abroad. It is a cliché, but it is also true. Study abroad has certainly changed my life – though I obviously got the whole thing wrong by not returning home (I left Freiburg for my year abroad 19 years ago, two states later, I am still here).

sophia-in-freiburg

But even more rewarding and life-changing than studying abroad, has been working with study abroad students (before, during, and after their time abroad). One of these wonderful students is Sophia Cheng, another one, who forgot about the going back home part of study abroad. You can read her story in our MSU German Spotlight.

Sophia’s story is one that stays with you and changes you. I will never forget her study abroad interview for Freiburg, you just knew, that a life was about to change dramatically and a young woman was about to find her pathway to happiness. It has been a pleasure to watch it unfold. It should not surprise you then, that she has become the face of the Academic Year in Freiburg program by being on the banner of the Alumni Newsletter.

Leave a Reply

